Skip to content
Ring & Rest
Menu

Best Smart Rings · Ranked picks

The best smart rings without a subscription

Six rings that keep your sleep, heart rate and HRV data on your phone with no monthly fee, ranked on what they cost to own, what the evidence says about accuracy, and the battery, sizing and phone facts that decide whether one suits you.

By Mike M.Last updated How we score

#adAs an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never set a score or pick a winner. How we score · Disclosure

Our top pick

Best Without a Subscription

RingConn Gen 2

RingConn Gen 2

9.5/10No subscription

No fee, 10-12 days a charge plus a case RingConn rates at up to 150 days, iOS and Android, and the only no-fee ring with a chest-strap comparison of its own (a preprint).

$299.00RingConn Gen 2 on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

Read the full write-up

Quick picks

The picks at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
RingConn Gen 2
RingConn Gen 2

No fee, 10-12 days a charge plus a case RingConn rates at up to 150 days, iOS and Android, and the only no-fee ring with a chest-strap comparison of its own (a preprint).

Best overall with no subscriptionNo subscription9.5/10Researched$299.00Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

2
RingConn Gen 3
RingConn Gen 3

RingConn's current ring and the strongest no-fee package on the market: no subscription, up to 14 days a charge plus a case RingConn rates at 150+ days, and the widest RingConn size range yet at 6-15.

Newest RingConn, longest single chargeNo subscription9.5/10Researched$349.00Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

3
RingConn Gen 2 Air
RingConn Gen 2 Air

The cheapest way into a no-fee ring from the brand that does no-fee best: no subscription on any tier, up to 10 days a charge, and RingConn's app, sizing kit and warranty behind it.

Lowest-cost no-fee ringNo subscription9.4/10Researched$199.00Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

4
Ultrahuman Ring PRO
Ultrahuman Ring PRO

The longest battery claim of any ring we cover - up to 15 days, and 45 with the charging case in the box - with no required subscription, now stocked on Amazon.com as well as Ultrahuman's own store.

Longest battery, if you can waitNo subscription9.2/10Researched$479.00Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

5
Samsung Galaxy Ring
Samsung Galaxy Ring

The ring to buy if the phone in your pocket is a Samsung Galaxy: no subscription, a charging case in the box, and Energy Score insights, Find My Ring and pinch gestures that only Samsung's own hardware unlocks.

Best for Samsung Galaxy phonesNo subscription9.0/10Researched$229.99Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

6
Illustrative stock photo: a woman's hands with a thin gold ring resting on her knee
Circular Ring 2

The no-fee ring that puts an ECG-based AFib feature on paper, bought direct from Circular. Covered here in full, and with no buy link, because it is sold only on Circular's own store.

No forced fee, bought directNo forced subscription9.0/10ResearchedMaker's store only
not on Amazon

#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked November 5, 2026. Scores are ours, built from published specs, manuals, warranty terms and named studies. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

RingConn Gen 2
Illustrative stock photo. It doesn't show a specific product on this page.

What “no subscription” actually means

Every ring on this page shows you your sleep, heart rate, heart rate variability (HRV) and activity data without a monthly or yearly charge. That sounds like a low bar until you look at the market leader. Oura's membership costs $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year in the US, and without it, Oura says you'll “only be able to see your three daily Oura scores (Readiness, Activity, and Sleep), ring battery, basic profile information, app settings, and the Explore content” (Oura Support). There's no lifetime plan to buy your way out.

“No subscription” comes in three flavors, and they aren't equal:

  • Nothing to pay, nothing locked. RingConn says “No Subscription” on its Gen 3 page and “No Subscriptions” on Gen 2; The Gadgeteer's Gen 3 review found “no locked tier, no upsell screen anywhere in the app.”
  • No fee, but optional paid extras. Ultrahuman promises “no recurring subscription fees for accessing your data” and sells optional PowerPlugs (Cardio Adaptability $24/year; Cycle & Ovulation Pro $39/year). Circular says “no forced subscription” but, per Tech Advisor, some future features cost “Circular Coins.” Neither is required for your core data.
  • No fee, but a phone requirement instead. Samsung's Galaxy Ring charges nothing, yet Energy Score insights and some Galaxy AI features need a compatible Samsung Galaxy phone, and the ring doesn't work with iPhone at all.

If you want the full brand-by-brand picture, our explainer on which smart rings require a subscription goes through every policy line by line.

The three-year math

A ring is a one-time purchase. A membership isn't. Here's what each ring's required plan adds over one, three and five years, with Oura Ring 5 included for contrast. Hardware prices change daily, so the last column links to the live Amazon price rather than printing a number that might be stale by the time you read this.

RingRequired planFees, 1 yrFees, 3 yrsFees, 5 yrsRing price
Oura Ring 5$5.99/month or $69.99/year$69.99$209.97$349.95$399.00
RingConn Gen 2No subscription$0$0$0$299.00
RingConn Gen 3No subscription$0$0$0$349.00
RingConn Gen 2 AirNo subscription$0$0$0$199.00
Ultrahuman Ring PRONo subscription (optional extras)$0$0$0$479.00
Samsung Galaxy RingNo subscription$0$0$0$229.99
Circular Ring 2No forced subscription (optional extras)$0$0$0Brand store only
#ad · Fees are each brand's published US plan price, checked Sep 19, 2026, multiplied out on the cheapest billing option offered (annual where it exists), ignoring any included free month and sales tax. Your total is the ring price plus the fee column. Ring prices change daily, so we link to the live price instead of printing one. How we compute fees.

That fee is the whole reason this list exists. Whether it's worth paying is a fair question with a real answer on each side, and we lay it out in what a smart ring really costs over three years.

How we ranked them

We scored every ring on our published ring rubric: cost of ownership over three years (30%), evidence of accuracy (25%), claimed battery (15%), sizing and fit (10%), data ownership (10%) and phone support (10%). Cost of ownership here is the required fee, since hardware prices move daily and we only show them live. Evidence means published validation of the model or its direct predecessor against an ECG, a chest strap or a sleep lab, weighted by independence.

Scores come from the brands' own fee, spec, sizing and warranty pages and from named studies, all linked below and on our methodology page. Two no-fee rings aren't on the list. Ultrahuman's Ring AIR isn't sold to US buyers at all. The Amazfit Helio Ring is now on sale in the US and charges no required fee, but it would rank last on this page's own criteria - three sizes, a four-day battery claim and no published validation - so we cover it separately in our Amazfit Helio Ring review and in Amazfit Helio vs RingConn Gen 2.

The picks side by side

Published specRingConn Gen 2RingConn Gen 3RingConn Gen 2 AirUltrahuman Ring PROSamsung Galaxy RingCircular Ring 2
SubscriptionNone ("No Subscriptions")None ("No Subscription")NoneNone required; optional paid PowerPlugs and UltrahumanX coverageNone (Amazon listing title: "No App Subscription")"No forced subscription"; some future features via paid Circular Coins
Battery (claimed)10-12 days (maker's claim)Up to 14 days (11-14 days per charge) (maker's claim)Up to 10 days; 90-minute fast charging (maker's claim)Up to 15 days (maker's claim)Up to 7 days (sizes 12-13); up to 6 days for smaller sizes (maker's claim)8 days (power mode) or 5 days (performance mode) (maker's claim)
Charging caseIncluded; "Extended Up to 150 Days With Charging Case" (maker's claim)"Universal Charging Case"; 150+ days total with the case (maker's claim)Not listedPRO Charging Case included; up to 45 days total (maker's claim)Up to 14 days total with a full charging-case charge (maker's claim)Not stated
Sizes6-1410 sizes, 6-15; sizes differ from other RingConn rings, standard rings and other brands6-14; "The ring sizes for both Gen 2 and Gen 2 Air are the same"5-145-15 (sizes 14 and 15 added January 2025); Samsung says its sizes are "slightly different from that of regular rings"US 6-14, "running approximately half a size larger than standard ring sizing"
PhonesiOS 17.0+ and Android 10.0+iPhone and AndroidiOS 17.0+ and Android 10.0+Data unavailable: Ring PRO phone requirements are not stated on Ultrahuman's buy page, product page or US FAQ (Bluetooth: BLE 5.3)Android 11+ only; no iPhone. Double Pinch and Find My Ring don't work on non-Samsung phonesiOS 15 and later, Android 9 and later
Warranty (US)1 year (non-EEA); normal battery capacity loss excluded; optional 2- or 3-year protection in the US1 year (non-EEA); normal battery capacity loss excluded; optional 2- or 3-year protection in the US1 year (non-EEA); normal battery capacity loss excluded; optional 2- or 3-year protection in the US12-month limited warranty for "any new Ultrahuman Ring" (Ring PRO not named explicitly); optional UltrahumanX coverage1 year (US version, per Amazon listing title)1 year in the US (2 years in the EU)
Score9.5/109.5/109.4/109.2/109.0/109.0/10
Figures as published by the maker or on the product listing; each value links to its source. A dash means the figure isn't in our cited sources. Hardware prices aren't shown: they change daily, so check the live price on Amazon.

The picks in context

1. RingConn Gen 2

The best all-rounder for someone who refuses a fee. RingConn claims 10-12 days per charge and up to 150 days with the included charging case, which makes it the ring you forget to charge in a good way. It works with iPhone (iOS 17+) and Android (10+), comes in sizes 6-14 with a free sizing kit, and is rated IP68 to 100 meters. It's also the only ring on this list with a chest-strap comparison of its own: a 2026 preprint (Tao et al., not yet peer-reviewed) found a heart rate bias of -0.42 bpm against a Polar H10 in seated athletes. The caveats are real, though. That study was seated and at rest, and Gadgets & Wearables found the Gen 2 read heart rate high against a chest strap on runs. Its “90.7% sleep apnea monitoring accuracy” is RingConn's own claim, and a ring is not a diagnosis. Our full RingConn Gen 2 review goes deeper.

2. RingConn Gen 3

RingConn's current ring and the one to pick if you want the newest hardware. RingConn rates it at up to 14 days per charge (11-14 on its features page) and 150+ days total with its charging case, offers the widest size range on this list (6-15), and adds Vascular Health Insights, Sleep Apnea Pattern Insights and vibration alerts. The Gadgeteer's reviewer got about 10 days with vibration alerts on. It ranks second only because we found no published validation of Gen 3 itself; its evidence is the Gen 2 preprint by inheritance. It showed “Out of stock” on RingConn's own store when we checked, though it was listed on Amazon. See RingConn Gen 3 vs Gen 2 if you're deciding between them.

3. RingConn Gen 2 Air

The cheapest way into a no-fee ring from a brand with a settled US legal status: RingConn lists the Air below Gen 2 and Gen 3 on its own store. You give up the charging case, sleep apnea monitoring (“Gen 2 Air ... does not include sleep apnea monitoring,” per RingConn) and the titanium alloy of Gen 2, and get up to 10 days per charge with 90-minute fast charging. Sizes match Gen 2 (6-14). If you'd charge it weekly anyway, it covers the basics. Our Gen 2 vs Gen 2 Air comparison lays out exactly what the lower price gives up.

4. Ultrahuman Ring PRO

On paper, the longest-lasting ring we found: up to 15 days per charge and up to 45 days with the included PRO Charging Case, sizes 5-14 with a free kit, and no required fee. The catches are practical. It is the most expensive ring on this site, it took a year of slipped ship dates to reach US buyers, and the only accuracy data Ultrahuman publishes is an in-house pilot on the older Ring AIR. We couldn't find Ring PRO's phone requirements stated anywhere on Ultrahuman's US site, which cost it points on phone support. Customs ruling H354023 cleared the redesigned ring for US import in March 2026, and our Ultrahuman Ring PRO review covers what happened to the Ring AIR.

5. Samsung Galaxy Ring

If you carry a Samsung Galaxy phone, this is a strong no-fee ring: a charging case in the box (up to 14 days total, per Samsung), sizes 5-15, 10ATM and IP68, and no app subscription. It ranks fifth for everyone else. It doesn't work with iPhone, Double Pinch and Find My Ring don't work on other Android brands, and Energy Score insights need a Samsung Galaxy AI phone. Samsung rates smaller sizes at up to 6 days, and GSMArena got about 5 from a size 11. We also found no peer-reviewed validation of the Galaxy Ring, which is the biggest drag on its score. The Galaxy Ring review has the details.

6. Circular Ring 2

A no-fee ring with single-lead ECG and AFib detection on its feature list, sold from Circular's own store (Circular has held an Oura patent license since June 2024). It works with iOS 15+ and Android 9+, carries a one-year US warranty and 14-day returns. It ranks last because we found no published validation of this model, it runs about half a size large by Circular's own sizing note, some future features will cost Circular Coins, and it isn't on Amazon.com. More in our Circular Ring 2 review.

What you give up by skipping Oura

Being straight about this matters more than winning the argument. Oura has the strongest independent accuracy evidence of any ring. The best study we found for this site's question, Dial et al. in Physiological Reports (2025), compared Oura Gen 3 and Gen 4 against a Polar H10 chest strap across 536 nights in 13 adults and found the Oura rings agreed most closely of the wearables tested: resting heart rate error about 1.9% and HRV error about 6% for Gen 4 (Dial et al.). No ring on this list has anything comparable yet.

So the honest trade is this: the no-fee rings save you a fee that runs as long as you own the ring, and they give up a head start on published evidence. If that evidence gap bothers you, you can close it yourself for the price of a chest strap. Our guide to testing your ring against a chest strap walks through a simple week-long comparison, and how accurate smart rings are covers every study we found.

First, what happens to a device you were renting rather than buying: Whoop without a membership quotes WHOOP's own staff on what stops when you stop paying. Second, how independent a no-fee ring really is - because no subscription is not the same as no account or no phone: can you use a smart ring without a phone. Third, the work case, where a ring has to survive a shift as well as a billing cycle: best smart ring for nurses.

And one that comes up often enough to need its own page: what if you refuse the fee but also refuse a ring? Three non-ring wearables clear the same no-subscription gate, and they are ranked in best fitness trackers with no subscription - including the screenless Amazfit Helio Strap, which claims ten days a charge.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 01

RingConn Gen 2

Best overall with no subscription

RingConn Gen 2

No subscriptionResearched9.5/10

No fee, 10-12 days a charge plus a case RingConn rates at up to 150 days, iOS and Android, and the only no-fee ring with a chest-strap comparison of its own (a preprint).

How the 9.5 score breaks down
Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
9.9
Evidence of accuracy (25%)
8.7
Battery (claimed) (15%)
9.7
Sizing & fit (10%)
9.7
Data ownership (10%)
9.5
Platform support (10%)
9.7

What the specs support

  • No subscription
  • The charging case turns a 10-12 day ring into a months-between-outlets ring (maker's claim)
  • A 2026 preprint compared it with a Polar H10 at rest: heart rate bias -0.42 bpm
  • iOS and Android, free sizing kit

Trade-offs

  • The chest-strap study is a preprint, seated only, and not peer-reviewed
  • A reviewer found it read heart rate high during runs compared with a chest strap
  • Needs iOS 17 or Android 10 or newer
  • Sleep apnea figure is RingConn's own claim

Good to know

Consider another pick if you want workout heart rate you can trust on runs: a reviewer found it read high against a chest strap. Wear a strap for training.

$299.00RingConn Gen 2 on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

Rank 02

RingConn Gen 3

Newest RingConn, longest single charge

RingConn Gen 3

No subscriptionResearched9.5/10

RingConn's current ring and the strongest no-fee package on the market: no subscription, up to 14 days a charge plus a case RingConn rates at 150+ days, and the widest RingConn size range yet at 6-15.

How the 9.5 score breaks down
Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
9.9
Evidence of accuracy (25%)
8.5
Battery (claimed) (15%)
9.9
Sizing & fit (10%)
9.7
Data ownership (10%)
9.5
Platform support (10%)
9.7

What the specs support

  • No subscription, no locked tier
  • Longest claimed single charge of the rings sold on Amazon (up to 14 days), plus a charging case
  • Widest size range here (6-15), with a free sizing kit before the ring ships
  • Legal US status settled: licensed by Oura since October 2025

Trade-offs

  • No published validation study of Gen 3 found; evidence comes from the Gen 2 preprint
  • The Gadgeteer's reviewer got about 10 days with vibration alerts on, not 14
  • Normal battery capacity loss isn't covered by the warranty

Good to know

Consider another pick if you want published, peer-reviewed accuracy evidence for the exact ring you buy: none exists yet for Gen 3.

$349.00RingConn Gen 3 on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 3

Rank 03

RingConn Gen 2 Air

Lowest-cost no-fee ring

RingConn Gen 2 Air

No subscriptionResearched9.4/10

The cheapest way into a no-fee ring from the brand that does no-fee best: no subscription on any tier, up to 10 days a charge, and RingConn's app, sizing kit and warranty behind it.

How the 9.4 score breaks down
Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
9.9
Evidence of accuracy (25%)
8.5
Battery (claimed) (15%)
9.2
Sizing & fit (10%)
9.7
Data ownership (10%)
9.5
Platform support (10%)
9.7

What the specs support

  • No subscription
  • RingConn lists it as its lowest-priced ring
  • Up to 10 days per charge with 90-minute fast charging (maker's claim)
  • Same sizes as Gen 2 (6-14), iOS and Android, free sizing kit

Trade-offs

  • No charging case
  • No sleep apnea monitoring (Gen 2 has it)
  • No published validation of this model
  • Titanium steel with PVD rather than the titanium alloy of Gen 2

Good to know

Consider another pick if you travel a lot or hate charging: it has no case, and Gen 2's case is rated at up to 150 days.

$199.00RingConn Gen 2 Air on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2 Air

Rank 04

Ultrahuman Ring PRO

Longest battery, if you can wait

Ultrahuman Ring PRO

No subscriptionResearched9.2/10

The longest battery claim of any ring we cover - up to 15 days, and 45 with the charging case in the box - with no required subscription, now stocked on Amazon.com as well as Ultrahuman's own store.

How the 9.2 score breaks down
Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
9.7
Evidence of accuracy (25%)
8.0
Battery (claimed) (15%)
9.9
Sizing & fit (10%)
9.7
Data ownership (10%)
9.5
Platform support (10%)
8.7

What the specs support

  • No required subscription
  • Longest claimed battery we found: up to 15 days, 45 with the included case
  • Free sizing kit; sizes 5-14
  • Titanium unibody, 100 m water rating

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive ring here by list price
  • A long US pre-order history: ship dates slipped more than once before stock arrived
  • No independent validation; Ultrahuman's only published data is an in-house pilot on the older Ring AIR
  • Optional paid PowerPlugs for some features

Good to know

Consider another pick if you want published accuracy evidence for the exact ring on your finger: Ultrahuman has none for the PRO.

$479.00Ultrahuman Ring PRO on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Ultrahuman Ring PRO

Rank 05

Samsung Galaxy Ring

Best for Samsung Galaxy phones

Samsung Galaxy Ring

No subscriptionResearched9.0/10

The ring to buy if the phone in your pocket is a Samsung Galaxy: no subscription, a charging case in the box, and Energy Score insights, Find My Ring and pinch gestures that only Samsung's own hardware unlocks.

How the 9.0 score breaks down
Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
9.9
Evidence of accuracy (25%)
8.0
Battery (claimed) (15%)
9.0
Sizing & fit (10%)
9.5
Data ownership (10%)
9.2
Platform support (10%)
8.2

What the specs support

  • No subscription
  • Charging case included (up to 14 days total, maker's claim)
  • Sizes 5-15, with a complimentary sizing kit before the ring
  • Titanium, 10ATM and IP68

Trade-offs

  • Does not work with iPhone
  • Energy Score insights, Find My Ring and gestures need a Samsung Galaxy phone
  • No peer-reviewed validation study found
  • Up to 6 days on smaller sizes; a reviewer got about 5 days from a size 11

Good to know

Consider another pick if you own an iPhone (it doesn't work with iOS), or you use a non-Samsung Android phone and want every feature.

$229.99Samsung Galaxy Ring on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Samsung Galaxy Ring

Rank 06

Illustrative stock photo: a woman's hands with a thin gold ring resting on her kneeStock photo

No forced fee, bought direct

Circular Ring 2

No forced subscriptionBrand store onlyResearched9.0/10

The no-fee ring that puts an ECG-based AFib feature on paper, bought direct from Circular. Covered here in full, and with no buy link, because it is sold only on Circular's own store.

How the 9.0 score breaks down
Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
9.5
Evidence of accuracy (25%)
8.0
Battery (claimed) (15%)
9.0
Sizing & fit (10%)
9.0
Data ownership (10%)
9.2
Platform support (10%)
9.7

What the specs support

  • No forced subscription
  • Lists single-lead ECG and AFib detection
  • 1-year US warranty, 14-day returns
  • HSA/FSA eligible

Trade-offs

  • Not on Amazon.com, so we earn nothing on it and carry no buy link for it
  • Runs about half a size large
  • No published validation of this ring found
  • Some future features cost Circular Coins

Good to know

Consider another pick if you want a ring backed by published accuracy evidence or bought through Amazon: neither applies here.

Sold by Circular only

Not on Amazon.com. We earn nothing on it, so we don't send you anywhere — Circular's own page is cited in the sources below.

What to check before you buy a no-fee ring

  1. Your phone. Galaxy Ring is Android only, with its best features on Samsung phones. RingConn needs iOS 17 or Android 10 or newer. Check before anything else.
  2. Your size, measured with that brand's kit. No brand says its sizes match another's, and RingConn says Gen 3 sizes differ even from its other rings. Every ring here offers a sizing kit; use it. Our smart ring sizing guide explains why your jewelry size is the wrong starting point.
  3. Whether a charging case is included. RingConn Gen 2 and Gen 3, Ultrahuman Ring PRO and Galaxy Ring include one; Gen 2 Air doesn't. A case is the difference between charging weekly and charging when you remember.
  4. Where you'll buy it. Amazon-sold rings (RingConn, Galaxy Ring) come with Amazon's return process. Ultrahuman and Circular are brand-store only, so their own return and warranty terms apply.
  5. The warranty on the battery. RingConn excludes normal battery capacity loss from its one-year warranty but sells optional two- and three-year protection in the US. See our warranty and returns guide.

No-fee ring mistakes

  • Buying your jewelry size. Smart ring sizes are brand-specific. A ring that's loose reads worse and one that's tight is miserable to sleep in.
  • Treating battery days as a promise. Every figure here is the maker's claim under its own conditions. Reviewers got about 10 days from RingConn Gen 3 with alerts on and about 5 from a size 11 Galaxy Ring. Our battery life guide reads each claim with its fine print.
  • Expecting diagnosis. Sleep apnea and blood pressure features on these rings are trends and screening signals, not medical tests. RingConn itself says its ring is “not a medical device.”
  • Forgetting optional extras. Ultrahuman's PowerPlugs and Circular's Coins are optional, but check whether a feature you want sits behind one.

When Oura is still the right call

If you want the ring with the most published validation behind it and you're comfortable paying the membership, Oura is a defensible choice, and we say so in our Oura Ring 5 review. The head-to-head Oura vs RingConn puts the three-year cost next to the evidence so you can decide which matters more to you. For every ring in one table, see the smart ring comparison chart.

The bottom line

Our recommendation

Our pick · Best Without a Subscription

RingConn Gen 2

9.5/10No subscription

No fee, 10-12 days a charge plus a case RingConn rates at up to 150 days, iOS and Android, and the only no-fee ring with a chest-strap comparison of its own (a preprint).

$299.00RingConn Gen 2 on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

Runner-up

RingConn Gen 3

9.5/10No subscription

RingConn's current ring and the strongest no-fee package on the market: no subscription, up to 14 days a charge plus a case RingConn rates at 150+ days, and the widest RingConn size range yet at 6-15.

$349.00RingConn Gen 3 on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 3

How we scored this

How these picks were chosen

Every pick here is labeled Researched: chosen from each brand's fee policy, spec sheet, sizing and warranty pages, and the published studies that measured the ring (or its predecessor) against a chest strap, an ECG or a sleep lab, then scored on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from, and maker performance numbers are labeled “maker's claim,” so you can see exactly what you're paying for before you buy.

Scores are editorial judgments built from that documented research. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

What changed

  • Published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Which smart ring has no subscription?
RingConn Gen 3, Gen 2 and Gen 2 Air, the Samsung Galaxy Ring, the Ultrahuman Ring PRO and the Circular Ring 2 all show your core data with no required fee. Ultrahuman and Circular sell optional extras. Oura is the one major ring that gates most insights behind a paid membership.
What is the best smart ring without a subscription?
On our rubric, the RingConn Gen 2 (9.5/10): no fee, 10-12 days a charge plus an included case rated at up to 150 days, iPhone and Android support, and a chest-strap comparison of its own (a preprint). The newer RingConn Gen 3 is a close second.
How much does Oura's subscription cost over three years?
$209.97 on the annual plan ($69.99 a year), or $215.64 paying $5.99 a month, before tax and ignoring the included first month. The full breakdown is in our Oura membership cost guide.
Is a smart ring without a subscription less accurate?
Not necessarily, but it's less proven. Oura has the most published validation, including a peer-reviewed study against a Polar H10 chest strap. We found no comparable peer-reviewed study for any no-fee ring yet; the RingConn Gen 2 has a preprint.
Does the Samsung Galaxy Ring work with iPhone?
No. It supports Android 11 and newer only, and some features (Double Pinch, Find My Ring) work only with Samsung phones. iPhone owners should look at RingConn instead; see our best smart ring for iPhone.
Can I buy the Ultrahuman Ring PRO on Amazon?
Yes. It is in stock on Amazon.com in Aster Black and Bionic Gold, alongside its sizing kit, and Ultrahuman's own US store sells it too.

Receipts

Sources

  1. Oura Support: Oura Membership (price, what works without it) (checked 2026-09-19)
  2. RingConn: Gen 2 product page (checked 2026-09-19)
  3. RingConn: Gen 3 product page (checked 2026-09-19)
  4. RingConn: Gen 3 features page (battery, charging case, vascular and sleep apnea insights) (checked 2026-09-19)
  5. RingConn: Gen 2 Air product page (checked 2026-09-19)
  6. The Gadgeteer: RingConn Gen 3 review (June 12, 2026) (checked 2026-09-19)
  7. Gadgets & Wearables: RingConn Gen 2 review (checked 2026-09-19)
  8. Tao et al., Research Square preprint 2026: ring PPG (RingConn Gen 2) vs chest strap in shooting athletes (not peer-reviewed) (checked 2026-09-19)
  9. RingConn: smart ring battery replacement guide (warranty terms) (checked 2026-09-19)
  10. Ultrahuman US: Ring PRO buy page (price, ship date, subscription, battery, sizes) (checked 2026-09-19)
  11. Ultrahuman US: Ring FAQ (ProRelease Technology, BLE 5.3) (checked 2026-09-19)
  12. U.S. Customs and Border Protection ruling H354023 (Mar 6, 2026) (checked 2026-09-19)
  13. Ultrahuman: in-house pilot study, sleep heart rate sensing (not peer-reviewed) (checked 2026-09-19)
  14. Samsung US: Galaxy Ring product page (checked 2026-09-19)
  15. Samsung Canada: Galaxy Ring buy page (compatibility notes) (checked 2026-09-19)
  16. Samsung Newsroom: Galaxy Ring adds sizes 14 and 15 (sizes 5 to 15) (checked 2026-09-19)
  17. GSMArena: Samsung Galaxy Ring review (checked 2026-09-19)
  18. Circular: Circular Ring 2 product page (checked 2026-09-19)
  19. Circular: shop page (subscription, sizing, warranty, HSA/FSA) (checked 2026-09-19)
  20. Circular: homepage (compatibility: iOS 15 and later, Android 9 and later) (checked 2026-09-19)
  21. Tech Advisor: Circular Ring 2 review (Oct 3, 2025) (checked 2026-09-19)
  22. Dial et al., Physiological Reports 2025: nocturnal resting HR and HRV in consumer wearables vs Polar H10 (checked 2026-09-19)
  23. the5krunner: commentary on the Dial et al. HRV study (Oct 6, 2025) (checked 2026-09-19)

Every figure on this page is traceable. Fees come from each brand's own policy pages (with the date we checked), specs from maker pages and listings, and accuracy claims from named, published studies. Hardware prices are set by Amazon and change daily, so we link them live instead of printing them. Read the full method.

Keep going

  • Best Smart Rings

    Best for Beginners

    A first ring goes wrong on sizing, a surprise fee, phone support or charging - not sensors. Every ring here is ranked on those four, with the no-fee RingConn Gen 2 on top.

    By Mike M. · Updated October 2026

    Top pick: RingConn Gen 2 · 5 ranked

    $299.00RingConn Gen 2

    #ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Cost & Subscriptions

    Smart Ring Subscription Costs

    Every smart ring brand's fee policy, the 1, 3 and 5-year math for every ring, what's locked without a plan, and the optional extras nobody mentions up front.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: RingConn Gen 2

    $299.00RingConn Gen 2

    #ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Ring vs Ring

    Smart Ring Comparison Chart

    All eight rings in one table: subscription, three-year fees, claimed battery, charging case, sizes, phones, water rating, HSA/FSA, warranty and score.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: RingConn Gen 2

    $299.00RingConn Gen 2

    #ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Ring vs Ring

    Oura vs RingConn

    Oura Ring 5 vs RingConn Gen 3: the membership fee against no fee, the evidence gap, battery, sizing and phones, with the three-year math.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Oura Ring 5

    $399.00Oura Ring 5

    #ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Oura Ring 5

  • Smart Ring Reviews

    RingConn Gen 2 Review

    Our top no-fee ring: no subscription, 10-12 days a charge plus a case rated at up to 150 days, and the only no-fee ring with a chest-strap study of its own.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: RingConn Gen 2

    $299.00RingConn Gen 2

    #ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Battery & Sizing Truth

    Smart Ring Sizing Guide

    Why your jewelry size is the wrong starting point, how to size with each brand's own kit step by step, which finger to use, and every brand's size range.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Oura Ring 5 Sizing Kit

    $10.00Oura Ring 5 Sizing Kit

    #ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Oura Ring 5 Sizing Kit

  • Best Smart Rings

    Best Oura Ring Alternatives

    Five rings with no required membership, ranked on cost of ownership and what each gives up against Oura. RingConn Gen 2 leads; the fee math is the whole argument.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: RingConn Gen 2 · 5 ranked

    $299.00RingConn Gen 2

    #ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

More in Best Smart Rings