Not medical advice. Smart rings are consumer wellness devices, not diagnostic tools, unless a specific feature has regulatory authorization (we name it where one exists). This page reports what published studies and makers state, with sources. If a reading worries you, talk to a clinician. Our health-content rules.
The verdict
Circular Ring 2: the research verdict
Stock photoNo-fee ring with ECG features, bought direct
Circular Ring 2
No forced subscription and an ECG-based AFib feature on paper, but it's brand-store only, runs about half a size large, and we found no validation of this model.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| Subscription | "No forced subscription"; some future features via paid Circular Coins |
|---|---|
| Battery (claimed) | 8 days (power mode) or 5 days (performance mode)Maker's claim |
| Charging case | Not stated |
| Sizes | US 6-14, "running approximately half a size larger than standard ring sizing" |
| Sizing kit | Physical replica-ring sizing kit sold separately, plus a printable sizing guide |
| Phones | iOS 15 and later, Android 9 and later |
| Water resistance | IP68 |
| Materials | Titanium with PVD |
| Features | Single-lead ECG and AFib detection listed by CircularMaker's claim |
| HSA/FSA | Eligible, per Circular |
| Warranty (US) | 1 year in the US (2 years in the EU) |
| US availability | Circular's store; licensed by Oura since June 2024; 14-day returns |
How the 6.0 score breaks down
- Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
- 8
- Evidence of accuracy (25%)
- 2
- Battery (claimed) (15%)
- 6
- Sizing & fit (10%)
- 6
- Data ownership (10%)
- 7
- Platform support (10%)
- 9
What the specs support
- No forced subscription
- Lists single-lead ECG and AFib detection
- 1-year US warranty, 14-day returns
- HSA/FSA eligible
Where it falls short
- Not on Amazon.com, so we don't earn on it
- Runs about half a size large
- No published validation of this ring found
- Some future features cost Circular Coins
Skip this if…
…You want a ring backed by published accuracy evidence or bought through Amazon: neither applies here.
Sold by the maker, not on Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn on it.

How this review was built
We haven't worn, owned or lab-tested a Circular Ring 2. This review is built from Circular's product, shop, home and help pages, its license with Oura, Tech Advisor's October 2025 review, and the published sleep-lab research, all linked below. On our ring rubric (how we score) it scores 6.0 out of 10, sixth of the six no-fee rings in our best smart rings without a subscription.
That low rank isn't about the fee. Circular scores 8 out of 10 on cost of ownership and 9 out of 10 on phone support. It loses its points on evidence (2 out of 10: we found no published validation of this ring), sizing (6: it runs about half a size large) and battery (6: a shorter claim than the RingConn rings and no stated charging case). Circular's US legal footing is settled: Oura granted it “a multi-year license to continue selling Circular smart rings and associated app, subject to royalty payments” on June 25, 2024 (Oura).
What you pay over three years
Circular's shop page promises “no forced subscription,” and its product page says “Every core feature is included with the ring.” Here it is against the two alternatives on this page.
| Ring | Required plan | Fees, 1 yr | Fees, 3 yrs | Fees, 5 yrs | Ring price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Circular Ring 2 | No forced subscription (optional extras) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Brand store only |
| RingConn Gen 2 | No subscription | $0 | $0 | $0 | Check on Amazon |
| Oura Ring 5 | $5.99/month or $69.99/year | $69.99 | $209.97 | $349.95 | Check on Amazon |
For every brand's terms in one place, see do smart rings require a subscription and what a smart ring really costs over three years.
No forced subscription, and the Coins
“No forced subscription” is a narrower promise than “no subscription.” Tech Advisor's review reported that “Future features need virtual coins”: Circular Coins, which can be bought (Tech Advisor). Circular's own wording is that every core feature comes with the ring. So what you buy today works without paying again, but new features Circular adds later may cost Coins.
For a fee-averse buyer, that's a real difference from RingConn, which sells no paid tier at all, and a real improvement on Oura, where the membership gates most of what the ring measures. It's closest to Ultrahuman's model of optional paid extras. Just go in knowing that the feature list can grow in ways you pay for.
The ECG and AFib features, read carefully
Circular lists single-lead ECG and AFib detection among the Ring 2's features, something none of the other rings we cover lists. Circular's own homepage is careful about what that means: “Circular is not a diagnostic device and does not replace medical advice.” On blood pressure, it describes “A trend read from the pulse wave, calibrated against your own cuff,” and adds, “It does not replace a cuff and it is not a diagnosis” ( Circular).
Circular's homepage makes no FDA clearance claim for the ECG. We've seen third-party claims that it's FDA-cleared, but we couldn't verify any of them, so we don't repeat them. We also found no smart ring with an FDA-cleared blood pressure feature. Treat all of it as wellness information that might prompt a doctor's visit.
What the evidence says
We found no published validation study of the Circular Ring 2. Two things are easy to confuse here, so we'll head them off:
- “Circul” is not Circular. A 2025 sleep-lab study in Scientific Reports (Herberger et al.) tested Oura, SleepOn and a ring called “Circul” against polysomnography; the Circul ring had the lowest four-stage accuracy of the three, at 35.06% (Herberger et al.). That's a different product. It tells you nothing about the Circular Ring 2, good or bad.
- Amazon's “Circul Smart Ring” is also a different brand. We found no Circular Ring 2 listing on Amazon.com.
On exercise, Tech Advisor's reviewer offered a wider judgment: “I've not tested a smart ring that I really think does a good job of tracking heart rate during exercise.” That fits the published ring studies we found, which measured overnight and resting data, not workouts. The best ring study we found, Dial et al. (2025), compared Oura rings with a Polar H10 chest strap overnight; no equivalent exists for Circular. If you buy one, our test your ring against a chest strap guide is the way to find out how yours reads.
Battery, sizing and phones
| Published spec | Circular Ring 2 | RingConn Gen 2 | Oura Ring 5 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Battery (claimed) | 8 days (power mode) or 5 days (performance mode) (maker's claim) | 10-12 days (maker's claim) | 6-9 days, "depending on ring size and usage" (maker's claim) |
| Charging case | Not stated | Included; "Extended Up to 150 Days With Charging Case" (maker's claim) | Not included |
| Sizes | US 6-14, "running approximately half a size larger than standard ring sizing" | 6-14 | 6-13 (Oura's own sizing; differs from Ring 4) |
| Sizing kit | Physical replica-ring sizing kit sold separately, plus a printable sizing guide | Complimentary | Free on Oura's store; sold on Amazon with a matching credit |
| Phones | iOS 15 and later, Android 9 and later | iOS 17.0+ and Android 10.0+ | iOS and Android |
| Water resistance | IP68 | IP68 (100 m / 328 ft) | Waterproof to 100 m / 328 ft; IP68 |
| Materials | Titanium with PVD | Titanium alloy with medical-grade epoxy resin | Titanium exterior and interior; from 2 grams depending on size |
| Score | 6.0/10 | 8.2/10 | 5.8/10 |
Battery. Circular claims “8 days power mode, 5 days performance.” Its product page says “30 minutes to full” for charging, while its shop page said about 60 minutes when we checked, so expect somewhere in that range. No charging case is stated. Compared with the RingConn Gen 2 (10-12 days plus a case), that means more trips to the charger. Our smart ring battery life guide reads every claim with its conditions.
Sizing. US sizes 6-14, “running approximately half a size larger than standard ring sizing,” per Circular. You can print a sizing guide, or order a physical kit first (“Replica rings arrive first”) for a small extra charge. Circular's help page says “Outer-shells and sizing kits are consumables that are not refundable” ( Circular). Given the half-size quirk, the physical kit is worth it. Our smart ring sizing guide and sizing compared across brands explain why a printed chart is the riskier route.
Phones and build. Circular's homepage lists “iOS 15 and later, Android 9 and later,” which reaches older phones than RingConn's iOS 17 and Android 10 minimums. (An older help page quotes lower versions; we go with the current homepage.) It's titanium with a PVD coating and rated IP68; for what that means around water, see is a smart ring waterproof.
Buying direct: returns, warranty, HSA/FSA
The Circular Ring 2 is sold by Circular's own store, which ships worldwide. That means Circular's terms, not Amazon's:
- Returns: “14-day return no questions asked” on the shop page. The help page adds that you may return a “fully functional and undamaged” product “for any reason within 14 days of receipt of your ring for a full refund.” Fourteen days is short for a ring you'll want to sleep in for a couple of weeks, so start wearing it the day it arrives.
- Warranty: a “1-year manufacturer warranty” in the US (two years in the EU).
- HSA/FSA: Circular says the ring is eligible. See our HSA and FSA guide for the IRS rule behind it.
Because it isn't sold on Amazon, we don't earn a commission on it; the card links to Circular's store as a plain reference link. Compare every brand's terms in our warranty and returns guide.
Who should skip it
- Anyone who wants published accuracy evidence. We found none for this ring.
- Anyone buying for a medical-grade ECG. Circular says it isn't a diagnostic device, and we found no FDA clearance claim.
- Anyone who wants to buy through Amazon or needs more than 14 days to decide.
- Anyone who hates charging. 8 days at best in power mode, 5 in performance mode, and no stated case.
- Anyone who wants a promise that nothing will ever cost extra. Future features may need Circular Coins.
The alternatives
RingConn Gen 2 is the no-fee ring we'd point most Circular shoppers to: no paid tier at all, 10-12 days a charge plus a case rated at up to 150 days, a chest-strap preprint of its own, and it's on Amazon. It has no ECG feature. See the RingConn Gen 2 review.
Oura Ring 5 is the pick if evidence matters more than the fee: the best-validated lineage in the category, but most features sit behind the membership. Our Circular Ring 2 vs Oura comparison puts the two side by side, and the Oura Ring 5 review has the membership math. Every ring is in the smart ring comparison chart, and the other models are on our reviews hub.
Consider instead
The alternatives, in full
Stock photoConsider instead for a no-fee ring on Amazon
RingConn Gen 2
No subscription at all, 10-12 days a charge plus a case rated at up to 150 days, and a chest-strap preprint of its own, with Amazon's returns.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| Subscription | None ("No Subscriptions") |
|---|---|
| Battery (claimed) | 10-12 daysMaker's claim |
| Charging case | Included; "Extended Up to 150 Days With Charging Case"Maker's claim |
| Sizes | 6-14 |
| Sizing kit | Complimentary |
| Phones | iOS 17.0+ and Android 10.0+ |
| Water resistance | IP68 (100 m / 328 ft) |
| Materials | Titanium alloy with medical-grade epoxy resin |
| HSA/FSA | Eligible through Flex |
| Warranty (US) | 1 year (non-EEA); normal battery capacity loss excluded; optional 2- or 3-year protection in the US |
| Features | "Automatic sleep apnea monitoring" with a "90.7% Sleep Apnea Monitoring Accuracy" claim (maker's claim; not a diagnosis)Maker's claim |
| US availability | Listed on Amazon.com |
How the 8.2 score breaks down
- Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
- 10
- Evidence of accuracy (25%)
- 5
- Battery (claimed) (15%)
- 9
- Sizing & fit (10%)
- 9
- Data ownership (10%)
- 8
- Platform support (10%)
- 9
What the specs support
- No subscription
- The charging case turns a 10-12 day ring into a months-between-outlets ring (maker's claim)
- A 2026 preprint compared it with a Polar H10 at rest: heart rate bias -0.42 bpm
- iOS and Android, free sizing kit
Where it falls short
- The chest-strap study is a preprint, seated only, and not peer-reviewed
- A reviewer found it read heart rate high during runs compared with a chest strap
- Needs iOS 17 or Android 10 or newer
- Sleep apnea figure is RingConn's own claim
Skip this if…
…You want workout heart rate you can trust on runs: a reviewer found it read high against a chest strap. Wear a strap for training.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2
Stock photoConsider instead if published evidence matters most
Oura Ring 5
The best-validated lineage of any ring and iOS and Android support, but most of its features need Oura's paid membership.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
How the 5.8 score breaks down
- Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
- 3
- Evidence of accuracy (25%)
- 8
- Battery (claimed) (15%)
- 6
- Sizing & fit (10%)
- 7
- Data ownership (10%)
- 4
- Platform support (10%)
- 9
What the specs support
- Oura's Gen 3 and Gen 4 rings have the strongest independent validation of any ring we found, including the only peer-reviewed study against a Polar H10 chest strap
- Works on iPhone and Android
- Waterproof to 100 m
- Brand-made sizing kit available on Amazon
Where it falls short
- Without the membership you see only three daily scores
- The membership fee runs for as long as you use the ring (three-year math on every Oura page)
- Batteries are excluded from the 1-year warranty
- Ring 5 itself has not yet been through the published studies its predecessors have
- Narrower size range (6-13) than Ring 4 (4-15)
Skip this if…
…You won't pay a monthly or yearly fee for your own sleep data: without the membership, Oura shows only its three daily scores.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Oura Ring 5
How we scored this
Rings we claim to have lab-tested: 0
Plenty of ring reviews say they wore everything they rank. We haven't, and we say so. Every pick here is labeled Researched: we read each brand's fee policy, spec sheet, sizing and warranty pages, and the published studies that tested the ring (or its predecessor) against a chest strap, an ECG or a sleep lab, then scored it on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from, and maker performance numbers are labeled “maker's claim.”
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
What changed
- Published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Does the Circular Ring 2 need a subscription?
Is the Circular Ring 2 ECG FDA-cleared?
Is the Circular Ring 2 sold on Amazon?
Does Circular Ring 2 sizing run large?
How long does the Circular Ring 2 battery last?
Receipts
Sources
- Circular: Circular Ring 2 product page (checked 2026-09-19)
- Circular: shop page (subscription, sizing, warranty, HSA/FSA) (checked 2026-09-19)
- Circular: homepage (compatibility: iOS 15 and later, Android 9 and later) (checked 2026-09-19)
- Circular: help page (returns, sizing kit refunds, older compatibility wording) (checked 2026-09-19)
- Tech Advisor: Circular Ring 2 review (Oct 3, 2025) (checked 2026-09-19)
- Oura: license agreement with Circular (June 25, 2024) (checked 2026-09-19)
- Herberger et al., Scientific Reports 2025: finger ring trackers in the clinical sleep lab (PMC11923143) (checked 2026-09-19)
- Dial et al., Physiological Reports 2025: nocturnal resting HR and HRV in consumer wearables vs Polar H10 (checked 2026-09-19)
- RingConn: Gen 2 product page (checked 2026-09-19)
- Oura Support: Oura Membership (price, what works without it) (checked 2026-09-19)
- Oura: Oura Ring 5 store page (battery, water rating, sizes, HSA/FSA) (checked 2026-09-19)
We haven't worn or lab-tested the rings on this page and we don't pretend to. Fees come from each brand's own policy pages (with the date we checked), specs from maker pages and listings, and accuracy claims from named, published studies. Hardware prices are set by Amazon and change daily, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.





