Skip to content
Ring & Rest
Menu

Cost & Subscriptions · Guide

Is a smart ring HSA or FSA eligible? What each brand says

Every major ring brand says you can pay with HSA or FSA funds. The IRS rule is narrower than the badges suggest, so here's what each brand actually states, how the letter-of-medical-necessity step works, and what to ask your plan.

By Mike M.Last updated How we score

#adAs an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never set a score or pick a winner. How we score · Disclosure

A wooden desk with a notebook, pens and a closed laptop
Illustrative stock photo. It doesn't show a specific product on this page.

What each brand says

Here's each brand's own statement, word for word where we have it, with the route it documents and what it says about a letter of medical necessity (LMN). We only list what we could read on the brand's or its checkout partner's page.

RingWhat the brand saysRoute it documentsLetter needed?
Oura Ring 5“HSA/FSA eligible” (Ring 5 page). “Most items available on the Oura online store, including taxes and shipping, can be purchased with HSA or FSA funds” (Oura Support).Oura's own store; Flex also lists OuraFlex: “Generally, you do not need” one, but “some plans may require” it
RingConn Gen 3, Gen 2, Gen 2 Air“RingConn smart rings, including RingConn Gen 2, Gen 2 Air, and Gen 3, can be purchased using HSA/FSA funds through Flex” (RingConn).FlexFlex: “some may require” one
Ultrahuman Ring PRO“Ultrahuman products are HSA/FSA eligible with Flex,” with Ring PRO listed (Ultrahuman).FlexFlex: “some may require” one
Samsung Galaxy RingSamsung's US Galaxy Ring page says the ring qualifies for HSA and FSA (Samsung).Not stated on the page we checkedNot stated
Circular Ring 2“HSA/FSA eligible” (Circular).Circular's own storeNot stated
Amazfit, Leep, QALONot verified. We couldn't find an official HSA/FSA statement.Data unavailableData unavailable

Two things stand out. First, “eligible” on a product page is the seller's statement, not your plan's decision. Second, two of these brands route payment through Flex, a checkout service that adds a short medical screening, and Flex lists Oura too. Neither is a problem, but both are worth understanding before you spend account money. The rest of our no-subscription hub covers what each ring costs to own once it's paid for.

The IRS rule behind the badges

The IRS defines medical expenses as “the costs of diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease, and for the purpose of affecting any part or function of the body.” It adds that they “must be primarily to alleviate or prevent a physical or mental disability or illness” and “don't include expenses that are merely beneficial to general health” ( IRS). The IRS page we checked, last reviewed January 15, 2026, doesn't mention wearables at all.

That's the tension. A sleep and recovery ring sold for general wellness is exactly the kind of purchase that could count as “merely beneficial to general health.” In practice, the gap gets closed one of two ways: your plan accepts the purchase as it is, or a clinician writes a letter of medical necessity linking it to a condition you have. Oura's own blog says of the letter: “Most providers don't require it, but some may” (Oura).

How the Flex letter works

Flex is the checkout partner RingConn and Ultrahuman name, and it lists Oura as well. Its product pages say: “All products shown in the Flex Marketplace are HSA/FSA eligible, some may require a Letter of Medical Necessity (LMN).” Here's the process as Flex describes it (Flex):

  1. You pick Flex at checkout and are taken to “a chat-based consultation with a healthcare practitioner.” You answer the questions as prompted.
  2. A clinician decides. “A licensed clinician will determine your eligibility during a chat-based telehealth consultation.” Flex says “you must have a medical condition that warrants the product or service you intend to purchase using your HSA/FSA,” and lists qualifying categories as “cardiovascular, metabolic, musculoskeletal, autoimmune, neurological, or mental health.”
  3. The letter arrives by email. “You'll get the Letter of Medical Necessity in your inbox within 24 hours.”
  4. You keep it. The letter is “valid for 12 months from the date of issue,” and Flex says to keep it “on file for at least three years in the event of an IRS audit.”

We didn't find what the consultation costs on the Flex pages we checked, so ask before you start. For Oura specifically, Flex says: “Generally, you do not need a Letter of Medical Necessity (LMN) for an Oura Ring; however, some plans may require you to get one” ( Flex).

One more thing: a Flex consultation means describing a health condition to a company other than the ring maker. That's how a letter of medical necessity works, and it may well be worth it for the tax saving, but if data control is part of why you want a ring, read our smart ring data privacy guide too.

Paying for a membership with HSA or FSA

This is where pre-tax money changes the fee math. Oura says “Oura Ring and Membership are covered and reimbursable via Flexible Spending Accounts (FSA) and Health Savings Accounts (HSA),” and its support page says a prepaid membership can be paid with HSA or FSA funds when you buy it with a new ring. The membership is $69.99 a year, so three years on the annual plan comes to $209.97. Paying that with pre-tax dollars makes it cheaper in real terms, though it's still a fee that runs as long as you use the ring.

The no-fee rings have nothing to reimburse after the ring itself. Ultrahuman is a middle case: its HSA/FSA page also lists its optional Cycle & Ovulation Pro PowerPlug. For the whole-life cost of each ring, see our Oura membership cost guide and the three-year cost breakdown.

How to pay for a ring with HSA or FSA

  1. Ask your plan administrator first. Ask whether they reimburse a wearable, whether they need a letter of medical necessity, and whether they expect you to pay with the account card or claim afterward with a receipt.
  2. Size before you spend. Get your size confirmed with the brand's kit before you put account money on the ring. Our sizing guide explains why your jewelry size won't do.
  3. Buy through the route the brand documents. Oura documents its own store; RingConn and Ultrahuman document Flex. We didn't verify whether buying the same ring on Amazon qualifies, so confirm with your administrator before you use the account card there.
  4. Keep the paperwork. Save the receipt and, if you got one, the letter. Flex says to keep it for at least three years.
  5. Watch the date on the letter. Flex says its letter is valid for 12 months from issue.

Picking a ring with pre-tax money

Pre-tax money doesn't change what makes a ring good. Check the required fee, your phone, your size and the published evidence first, then check the HSA/FSA route. On that basis, these rings pair a clear HSA/FSA statement with the rest of what we look for. Scores come from our published rubric.

Our picks for this job

Rings with clear HSA/FSA statements

Oura has the clearest HSA/FSA story but charges a membership; the RingConn rings and Galaxy Ring charge nothing after the ring.

  • Illustrative stock photo: two hands on a wooden surface, one adjusting a dark metal band on a fingerStock photo

    Best evidence, if you'll pay the membership

    Oura Ring 5

    Membership required5.8/10Researched

    The clearest HSA/FSA story: Oura says the ring and a prepaid membership are both covered, and Flex says you generally don't need a letter. The membership still never ends.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Oura Ring 5

  • Illustrative stock photo: a woman's hands with a thin gold ring resting on her kneeStock photo

    Longest battery with no subscription

    RingConn Gen 3

    No subscription8.1/10Researched

    HSA/FSA through Flex, no subscription, up to 14 days a charge and sizes 6-15. No validation of Gen 3 itself yet.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 3

  • Illustrative stock photo: two hands on a wooden surface, one adjusting a dark metal band on a fingerStock photo

    Best overall with no subscription

    RingConn Gen 2

    No subscription8.2/10Researched

    HSA/FSA through Flex, no fee, 10-12 days a charge plus a charging case, and a chest-strap comparison of its own (a preprint).

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Illustrative stock photo: a woman's hands with a thin gold ring resting on her kneeStock photo

    Samsung Galaxy phone owners

    Samsung Galaxy Ring

    No subscription6.2/10Researched

    Samsung's US page says it qualifies for HSA and FSA. No fee and a charging case, but Android only, with some features tied to Samsung phones.

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Samsung Galaxy Ring

Ultrahuman Ring PRO and Circular Ring 2 also carry HSA/FSA statements. Both are sold only from their brands' own stores, which is where you'd use the account anyway; see our Ultrahuman Ring PRO review and Circular Ring 2 review. If you're still choosing a ring, start with the best smart rings without a subscription or the smart ring comparison chart.

HSA and FSA mistakes

  • Reading “eligible” as guaranteed. The badge is the seller's statement. Your plan decides.
  • Skipping a letter your plan needs. If your administrator wants a letter of medical necessity, get it before you buy, not after a claim is denied.
  • Paying a membership post-tax by habit. If you pay Oura's membership from a regular card, you may be paying post-tax for something Oura says is reimbursable.
  • Assuming every store counts. The brands document their own store or Flex. Check before using the account card anywhere else.
  • Treating the ring as a medical device because medical money paid for it. HSA eligibility doesn't make a ring diagnostic. RingConn, for one, says Gen 3 is “not a medical device.”

How we scored this

Rings we claim to have lab-tested: 0

Plenty of ring reviews say they wore everything they rank. We haven't, and we say so. Every pick here is labeled Researched: we read each brand's fee policy, spec sheet, sizing and warranty pages, and the published studies that tested the ring (or its predecessor) against a chest strap, an ECG or a sleep lab, then scored it on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from, and maker performance numbers are labeled “maker's claim.”

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

What changed

  • Published.

Questions

Frequently asked

Is the Oura Ring HSA eligible?
Oura says so: its Ring 5 page says “HSA/FSA eligible,” and its support page says most items on Oura's online store can be bought with HSA or FSA funds. Flex says you generally don't need a letter of medical necessity for an Oura Ring, but some plans may require one.
Is RingConn HSA eligible?
RingConn says its Gen 2, Gen 2 Air and Gen 3 can be bought with HSA or FSA funds through Flex. Flex runs a chat-based consultation, and some plans may require a letter of medical necessity.
Is the Samsung Galaxy Ring HSA eligible?
Samsung's US Galaxy Ring page says the ring qualifies for HSA and FSA. The page we checked didn't say which checkout route to use or whether a letter is needed, so ask your plan administrator.
Can I use my HSA or FSA for the Oura membership?
Oura says its ring and membership are covered and reimbursable via HSA and FSA, and that a prepaid membership can be paid with those funds when bought with a new ring. The membership is $69.99 a year on the annual plan.
Do I need a letter of medical necessity for a smart ring?
It depends on your plan. The IRS excludes expenses “merely beneficial to general health,” so some plans ask for a letter tying the ring to a condition. Flex issues one after a chat-based consultation if a clinician finds you qualify.
How much does a Flex letter of medical necessity cost?
We didn't find a price on the Flex pages we checked. Ask Flex before you start the consultation.

Receipts

Sources

  1. IRS: FAQs about medical expenses related to nutrition, wellness and general health (checked 2026-09-19)
  2. Oura: Oura Ring 5 store page (battery, water rating, sizes, HSA/FSA) (checked 2026-09-19)
  3. Oura Support: Purchase with HSA or FSA funds (checked 2026-09-19)
  4. Oura blog: is Oura Ring FSA/HSA eligible? (Sep 30, 2025) (checked 2026-09-19)
  5. Oura Support: Oura Membership (price, what works without it) (checked 2026-09-19)
  6. Flex: is the Oura Ring HSA/FSA eligible? (checked 2026-09-19)
  7. Flex: Oura Ring product page (checked 2026-09-19)
  8. Flex: how to get a Letter of Medical Necessity online (checked 2026-09-19)
  9. Flex: RingConn brand page (checked 2026-09-19)
  10. Flex: Ultrahuman brand page (checked 2026-09-19)
  11. RingConn: purchase with HSA or FSA funds (checked 2026-09-19)
  12. Ultrahuman US: HSA/FSA page (checked 2026-09-19)
  13. Ultrahuman US: Ring PRO buy page (price, ship date, subscription, battery, sizes) (checked 2026-09-19)
  14. Samsung US: Galaxy Ring product page (checked 2026-09-19)
  15. Circular: shop page (subscription, sizing, warranty, HSA/FSA) (checked 2026-09-19)
  16. RingConn: Gen 3 features page (battery, charging case, vascular and sleep apnea insights) (checked 2026-09-19)

We haven't worn or lab-tested the rings on this page and we don't pretend to. Fees come from each brand's own policy pages (with the date we checked), specs from maker pages and listings, and accuracy claims from named, published studies. Hardware prices are set by Amazon and change daily, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

Keep going

  • Cost & Subscriptions

    Oura Membership Cost

    Oura's membership costs $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year in the US. The 1, 3 and 5-year totals, what it unlocks, lifetime plans and paying with HSA/FSA.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: RingConn Gen 2

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Cost & Subscriptions

    Smart Ring Subscription Costs

    Every smart ring brand's fee policy, the 1, 3 and 5-year math for every ring, what's locked without a plan, and the optional extras nobody mentions up front.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: RingConn Gen 2

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Cost & Subscriptions

    Smart Ring Data Privacy

    What we can confirm about who can see your ring data and what a fee has to do with it, plus the five privacy-policy clauses to read before you buy.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: RingConn Gen 2

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Best Smart Rings

    Best Smart Rings Without a Subscription

    Six no-fee rings ranked on three-year cost, published accuracy evidence, battery and sizing, with the math against Oura's membership.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: RingConn Gen 2 · 6 ranked

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Smart Ring Reviews

    RingConn Gen 3 Review

    RingConn's newest ring: no subscription, up to 14 days a charge, a case rated at 150+ days and sizes 6-15, with no published validation of its own yet.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: RingConn Gen 3

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 3

More in Cost & Subscriptions