Skip to content
Ring & Rest
Menu

Best Smart Rings · Ranked picks

The best under-mattress sleep trackers: sleep data with nothing on your body

A mat under the mattress needs no charging, no sizing and no finger. It is the quietest way to track sleep there is - and it is also where two of the three makers have quietly moved to a fee you cannot cancel without losing the tracking.

By Mike M.Last updated How we score

#adAs an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never set a score or pick a winner. How we score · Disclosure

Not medical advice. Smart rings are consumer wellness devices, not diagnostic tools, unless a specific feature has regulatory authorization (we name it where one exists). This page reports what published studies and makers state, with sources. If a reading worries you, talk to a clinician. Our health-content rules.

Quick picks

The picks at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: close-up of rumpled cream bed linen
Withings Sleep

A 5 mm mat, mains-powered, reporting sleep stages, heart rate, respiratory rate, snoring and breathing disturbances. Withings says sleep history and trends stay free.

Best under-mattress trackerNo subscription7.7/10ResearchedCheck price · Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

2
Illustrative stock photo: close-up of rumpled cream bed linen
Emfit QS

Built for athletes who want HRV across the whole night, not one morning reading. Since March 2024 it ships with a fixed-term cloud service, and tracking stops without one.

Best for all-night HRV, at a costMembership required4.6/10ResearchedSee at maker
3
Illustrative stock photo: close-up of rumpled cream bed linen
Eight Sleep Pod 6

A mattress cover that heats and cools each side of the bed and tracks while it does. The annual Autopilot plan is built into the purchase price and keeps billing.

Best if temperature is the pointMembership required3.7/10ResearchedSee at maker

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from published specs, manuals and warranty terms, not hands-on tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Close-up of rumpled cream bed linen
Illustrative stock photo. It doesn't show a specific product on this page.

Why track sleep with nothing on your body

This site exists because people want recovery data without a watch. An under-mattress tracker is the logical end of that argument: nothing on your wrist, nothing on your finger, nothing to size, nothing to charge and nothing to forget.

Four practical advantages over any wearable:

  • No charging, ever. These run on mains power. A sleep tracker that needs charging has to be charged while you are awake, which is the one habit that puts holes in a sleep record.
  • No sizing. No sizing kit, no wrong size, no returns. Our sizing guide exists because getting a ring wrong is the most common expensive mistake in this category, and a mat skips it entirely.
  • It can hear you. A microphone under the bed can count snoring episodes and flag breathing disturbances. No ring has a microphone, so no ring can do this at all.
  • Nothing touches your skin. If a ring or a band irritates you, or your job or hobby rules out jewellery on your hands, this is the category for you.

The cost is obvious and worth saying up front: a mat only knows about your own bed. No naps on the sofa, no hotel nights, no daytime heart rate, no activity, no workouts.

The fee shift nobody announced

Here is what each required plan costs over one, three and five years, with a ring and Oura for scale.

DeviceRequired planFees, 1 yrFees, 3 yrsFees, 5 yrsDevice price
Withings SleepNo subscription (optional extras)$0$0$0Check on Amazon
Eight Sleep Pod 6$299.00/year$299.00$897.00$1,495.00Brand store only
RingConn Gen 2No subscription$0$0$0Check on Amazon
Oura Ring 5$5.99/month or $69.99/year$69.99$209.97$349.95Check on Amazon
The Emfit QS is not in this table: its fee is quoted in euros on Emfit's own page, and we do not convert currencies.

The Emfit QS is deliberately absent from that table. Its service fee is quoted in euros on a Finnish-language ordering page, and we do not print converted figures - every number on this site links to a source. Take the euro figure from Emfit's page, convert it yourself on the day, and remember three years are included at purchase. Our subscription cost breakdown runs the same arithmetic for every brand whose US fees we could verify.

How a mat measures a heartbeat through a mattress

The method is called ballistocardiography, and it is older than any of these products: your heartbeat and your breathing move your body very slightly, and those movements travel through a mattress as mechanical vibration. A sensitive enough sensor underneath can read them.

Withings describes its own implementation precisely: a pneumatic sensor that “measures your heart and respiratory rates as well as your movements through the mattress using ballistography,” plus a sound sensor that “identifies audio signals specific to snoring and breathing disturbances.” Emfit uses an electroactive film it develops and manufactures itself, which works without power of its own, with the electronics on a long cable so the transmitter can sit away from the bed.

Two things follow. First, nothing here reads blood oxygen, temperature or HRV from your skin - it is all inferred from movement, so do not expect the same metric list as a ring. Second, it is sensitive to your bed: Withings supports spring, foam and latex mattresses, says it “is not intended to be used with water mattresses,” and notes air mattresses may affect accuracy.

How we ranked them

These are scored on a rubric of their own, because the ring rubric's “Battery (claimed)” is meaningless for a mains-powered mat and scoring it would flatter the product. The sleep-tracker rubric keeps the same weights: cost of ownership over three years (30%), evidence of accuracy (25%), setup and upkeep (15%), who it suits - bed, partner, mattress - (10%), data ownership (10%) and platform support (10%). It is published in full on our methodology page.

We have not installed or tested any of these. Every pick is labeled Researched, and the evidence scores are low across the board for a reason we explain below.

The picks in context

1. Withings Sleep — the one to buy

A 637 x 190 x 5 mm fabric-covered mat weighing 350 g, powered by an included 5V 1A USB adapter, that goes under the mattress and then never asks anything of you again. It reports sleep cycles (deep, light, REM), sleep duration, onset and wake time, continuous and average heart rate, snoring episodes and their duration, breathing disturbances and a Sleep Score. It syncs over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi by itself, stores data locally between syncs, and Withings gives “free and unlimited online data storage with a Withings account” plus Apple Health, Google Health Connect and Google Fit compatibility and a web dashboard.

Two details we like. Withings says it “is engineered to focus exclusively on the person resting directly above it. It does not capture the movements or heart rate of a partner” - the single most common worry about bed sensors. And it claims development “in collaboration with sleep physicians from Hopital Beclere in Paris” with testing “against data obtained by polysomnography (PSG) analysis.” That is a maker's claim rather than a named, published study, which is why its evidence score is middling rather than high.

Limits: setup needs a phone and cannot be done from a computer, it is not for waterbeds, air mattresses may affect accuracy, and the Readiness Indicator is behind Withings+. It is listed on Amazon.com as well as Withings' own store.

2. Emfit QS — the athlete's choice, with an asterisk

The Emfit QS does one thing better than anything else here: HRV across the entire night rather than a single morning reading, with evening and morning values and a recovery and readiness analysis built on them. Emfit's pitch is squarely at athletes managing training load. It needs no phone at all - the collection unit has its own processor, memory and internet connection, and you read the data in a browser. On data ownership it says the right things: users keep ownership of their personal data, it is not shared with third parties, data is retained for a year after the last paid period so you can view, download or delete it, and an optional Push API is included.

Then the asterisk. Emfit says the QS was previously sold for a one-time payment and that since March 2024 it ships with a fixed-term cloud service - three years included, then a yearly fee - and that without an active subscription the cloud service and sleep-tracking features are not available. It is ordered from Finland, priced in euros, with import charges on you, and the ordering page is in Finnish. There is no named validation study and nothing published about how a partner in the bed affects readings.

For a reader who came to this site to stop renting their own data, that is a hard sell. It earns second place on capability, not on terms.

3. Eight Sleep Pod 6 — a climate system that also tracks

Worth understanding for what it is: primarily a temperature system. The Pod is a cover that fits over your existing mattress “like a fitted sheet,” with a Hub (16.54 x 7.87 x 6.50 in, 15.2 lbs, 120/240V AC in, 550W 12V DC out) that cools and heats each side of the bed from 55F to 110F, wakes you with thermal and vibration alarms, and tracks per-side sleep while it does. It comes with a 5-year warranty and a 30-night risk-free trial, and per-side tracking for two people is genuinely useful.

The problems, from this site's point of view: an Autopilot plan at $299/year is folded into the purchase price and keeps billing; Eight Sleep's page does not state what the Pod does once it lapses; the tracking claim is “clinical-grade sensors” with no published validation and no stated sensing method; and it is bedroom furniture - a hub, a water cord and a cover. If temperature control is what you actually want, nothing else here offers it. If sleep data is what you want, you are paying a lot for it.

Side by side

Published specWithings SleepEmfit QSEight Sleep Pod 6
SubscriptionNone required. Withings: "No, you'll always have free, unlimited access to your sleep history and trends." Optional Withings+ $9.95/month or $99.50/year adds the Readiness Indicator and clinical servicesRequired. Emfit says the QS has shipped with a fixed-term web service since March 2024: three years are included with the sensor, then a yearly fee quoted in euros, and without an active subscription the cloud service and sleep-tracking features are not availableAutopilot plan at $299/year, billed annually and added into the checkout total ("includes Autopilot plan"); "One Autopilot plan powers every Eight Sleep product"
SetupSlides under the mattress; spring, foam and latex mattresses supported. "Sleep is not intended to be used with water mattresses", and air mattresses may affect accuracySensor strip goes under any mattress; the electronics sit on a long cable so the transmitter can be placed away from the bed"Fits over any mattress like a fitted sheet"; the Hub sits under the bed or beside the nightstand. Sizes Full, Queen, King, Cali King (Standard) or Twin, Twin XL, Solo Queen, Solo King, Solo Cali King
PowerMains: 5V 1A, USB power adapter included. Nothing to chargeThe sensor material itself works without power; the data-collection unit runs on mains with Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) or, for teams and research, optional LTE-MHub input 120/240V AC, output 550W 12V DC; 16.54 x 7.87 x 6.50 in, 15.2 lbs. Nothing to charge
SensorsPneumatic sensor measuring heart and respiratory rates and movement through the mattress by ballistography, plus a sound sensor that "identifies audio signals specific to snoring and breathing disturbances"Emfit's own electroactive film, read by ballistocardiography: heartbeat and breathing are detected as mechanical vibration through the mattressEight Sleep: "Clinical-grade sensors track nightly sleep and health data". The maker does not name the sensing method on this page (maker's claim)
Partner in the bedWithings: "Sleep is engineered to focus exclusively on the person resting directly above it. It does not capture the movements or heart rate of a partner" (maker's claim)Data unavailable: Emfit's ordering page does not state how a second person in the bed affects the reading"The Cover cools and heats for you and your partner" and tracks each side separately; Solo sizes are for one sleeper
PhonesHealth Mate app on iOS 16 and above or Android 9.0 and above for setup (the app page lists iOS 18+ / Android 12+); syncs over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.0 for install. Cannot be set up from a computerNo phone needed: the collection unit has its own processor, memory and internet connection, and the data is read in a browser-based web appEight Sleep app; the Pod can also be controlled "without the need of your phone"
ValidationWithings says Sleep "has been developed in collaboration with sleep physicians from Hopital Beclere in Paris and extensively tested against data obtained by polysomnography (PSG) analysis". No peer-reviewed validation of this consumer mat was found (maker's claim)Data unavailable: Emfit's ordering page cites athlete testimonials rather than a named validation study, and we found no peer-reviewed validation of the consumer QSData unavailable: Eight Sleep's Pod page makes no polysomnography or FDA claim for its tracking, and we found no peer-reviewed validation of the Pod 6
Warranty (US)2-year quality guarantee stated on the product page, with free shipping and returns—5-year warranty and a 30-night risk-free trial with free returns, per the product page
Score7.7/104.6/103.7/10
Figures as published by the maker or on the product listing; each value links to its source. A dash means the figure isn't in our cited sources. Hardware prices aren't shown: they change daily, so check the live price on Amazon.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 01

Illustrative stock photo: close-up of rumpled cream bed linenStock photo

Best under-mattress tracker

Withings Sleep

No subscriptionResearched7.7/10

A 5 mm mat, mains-powered, reporting sleep stages, heart rate, respiratory rate, snoring and breathing disturbances. Withings says sleep history and trends stay free.

Published specsResearched · not tested by us

SubscriptionNone required. Withings: "No, you'll always have free, unlimited access to your sleep history and trends." Optional Withings+ $9.95/month or $99.50/year adds the Readiness Indicator and clinical services
SetupSlides under the mattress; spring, foam and latex mattresses supported. "Sleep is not intended to be used with water mattresses", and air mattresses may affect accuracy
PowerMains: 5V 1A, USB power adapter included. Nothing to charge
SensorsPneumatic sensor measuring heart and respiratory rates and movement through the mattress by ballistography, plus a sound sensor that "identifies audio signals specific to snoring and breathing disturbances"
MetricsSleep cycles (deep, light, REM), sleep duration, onset and time to wake, continuous and average heart rate, snoring episodes and duration, breathing disturbances, Sleep Score
Dimensions637 x 190 x 5 mm (25 x 7.5 x 0.2 in), 350 g, premium fabric cover
Partner in the bedWithings: "Sleep is engineered to focus exclusively on the person resting directly above it. It does not capture the movements or heart rate of a partner"Maker's claim
PhonesHealth Mate app on iOS 16 and above or Android 9.0 and above for setup (the app page lists iOS 18+ / Android 12+); syncs over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.0 for install. Cannot be set up from a computer
Data ownership"Free and unlimited online data storage with a Withings account"; Apple Health, Google Health Connect and Google Fit compatible, plus a web dashboard
ValidationWithings says Sleep "has been developed in collaboration with sleep physicians from Hopital Beclere in Paris and extensively tested against data obtained by polysomnography (PSG) analysis". No peer-reviewed validation of this consumer mat was foundMaker's claim
Warranty (US)2-year quality guarantee stated on the product page, with free shipping and returns
US availabilitySold by Withings in the US and listed on Amazon.com. Note this is the consumer mat, not the prescription-only Sleep Rx
How the 7.7 score breaks down
Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
9
Evidence of accuracy (25%)
5
Setup & upkeep (15%)
9
Who it suits (bed, partner, mattress) (10%)
7
Data ownership (10%)
8
Platform support (10%)
9

What the specs support

  • No required subscription, and Withings says sleep history and trends stay free
  • Nothing to wear, nothing to charge: it is mains-powered and 5 mm thick
  • Reports breathing disturbances and snoring, which no smart ring microphone can do
  • Free unlimited data storage plus Apple Health and Google Health Connect sync

Where it falls short

  • Only tracks you in your own bed: no travel, no naps on the sofa, no daytime data
  • Needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and a phone for setup; it cannot be installed from a computer
  • Not for waterbeds, and air mattresses may affect accuracy
  • The Readiness Indicator sits behind the optional Withings+ plan

Skip this if…

…You want daytime activity, workouts or travel nights covered, or you sleep on a waterbed: a mat under your own mattress can do none of that.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Withings Sleep

Rank 02

Illustrative stock photo: close-up of rumpled cream bed linenStock photo

Best for all-night HRV, at a cost

Emfit QS

Membership requiredBrand store onlyResearched4.6/10

Built for athletes who want HRV across the whole night, not one morning reading. Since March 2024 it ships with a fixed-term cloud service, and tracking stops without one.

Published specsResearched · not tested by us

SubscriptionRequired. Emfit says the QS has shipped with a fixed-term web service since March 2024: three years are included with the sensor, then a yearly fee quoted in euros, and without an active subscription the cloud service and sleep-tracking features are not available
SetupSensor strip goes under any mattress; the electronics sit on a long cable so the transmitter can be placed away from the bed
PowerThe sensor material itself works without power; the data-collection unit runs on mains with Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) or, for teams and research, optional LTE-M
SensorsEmfit's own electroactive film, read by ballistocardiography: heartbeat and breathing are detected as mechanical vibration through the mattress
MetricsAll-night heart rate variability with evening and morning readings, recovery and readiness analysis, sleep duration, quality and regularity, plus short- and long-term trendsMaker's claim
Partner in the bedData unavailable: Emfit's ordering page does not state how a second person in the bed affects the reading
PhonesNo phone needed: the collection unit has its own processor, memory and internet connection, and the data is read in a browser-based web app
Data ownershipEmfit says users keep ownership of their personal data and it is not shared with third parties; data is retained for one year after the last paid service period, during which it can be viewed, downloaded or deleted. An optional Push API is included
ValidationData unavailable: Emfit's ordering page cites athlete testimonials rather than a named validation study, and we found no peer-reviewed validation of the consumer QS
US availabilityOrdered from Emfit Ltd in Vaajakoski, Finland, priced in euros; customers outside the EU may owe local taxes, customs duties and import charges
How the 4.6 score breaks down
Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
3
Evidence of accuracy (25%)
3
Setup & upkeep (15%)
6
Who it suits (bed, partner, mattress) (10%)
5
Data ownership (10%)
8
Platform support (10%)
7

What the specs support

  • All-night HRV, not a single morning reading, with nothing on your body
  • No phone required: the unit uploads on its own over Wi-Fi
  • Emfit states the user keeps ownership of their data, and includes a Push API
  • The sensor film needs no power of its own and can sit under any mattress

Where it falls short

  • The tracking stops without an active cloud subscription: hardware alone is not enough
  • Priced in euros and ordered from Finland, with import charges on the buyer
  • The ordering page is Finnish-language, and US support is a long way away
  • No named validation study, and nothing about how a partner in the bed affects readings

Skip this if…

…You want a device you buy once and own outright: Emfit dropped that model in March 2024, and its sleep tracking now depends on a service you keep renewing.

See it at Emfit

Sold by the maker, not on Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn on it.

Rank 03

Illustrative stock photo: close-up of rumpled cream bed linenStock photo

Best if temperature is the point

Eight Sleep Pod 6

Membership requiredBrand store onlyResearched3.7/10

A mattress cover that heats and cools each side of the bed and tracks while it does. The annual Autopilot plan is built into the purchase price and keeps billing.

How the 3.7 score breaks down
Cost of ownership (3 years) (30%)
1
Evidence of accuracy (25%)
2
Setup & upkeep (15%)
5
Who it suits (bed, partner, mattress) (10%)
9
Data ownership (10%)
4
Platform support (10%)
8

What the specs support

  • Heats and cools each side of the bed, which no ring or mat does
  • Nothing to wear and nothing to charge
  • Per-side tracking for two people in one bed
  • 5-year warranty and a 30-night trial

Where it falls short

  • An annual Autopilot plan is built into the purchase price and keeps billing
  • Eight Sleep's page does not say what the Pod still does once the plan lapses
  • "Clinical-grade sensors" is a maker's phrase with no published validation behind it
  • It is bedroom furniture: a Hub, a water cord and a cover on your mattress

Skip this if…

…You came here to stop paying a monthly fee for your own sleep data: this is the most expensive recurring plan on the site and the Pod's plan-free behavior is not documented.

See it at Eight Sleep

Sold by the maker, not on Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn on it.

A mat or a ring?

Straight comparison, because most readers of this page are choosing between the two categories rather than within one.

Choose a mat if: you will not wear anything to bed, your hands rule out a ring, sizing worries you, snoring or breathing disturbances are the thing you actually want measured, or you want zero charging.

Choose a ring if: you travel, you nap anywhere but your own bed, you want daytime heart rate and activity too, you share a bed and want certainty the data is yours, or you want the strongest published accuracy evidence. Our best smart ring for sleep tracking ranks that side, and best sleep tracking wearables covers the non-ring wearables.

On fees, the comparison is closer than you would expect. A Withings Sleep charges nothing required, exactly like a RingConn Gen 2, and an Oura membership costs $209.97 over three years. So this is not a cheap-versus-expensive decision; it is a what-will-you-actually-wear decision.

The FDA-cleared one you cannot just buy

If you are here because you suspect sleep apnea, there is a device in this category with real clearance, and it is not on a shop shelf. Withings' Sleep Rx received FDA 510(k) clearance in September 2024 as a contactless, under-mattress device intended to aid in diagnosing obstructive sleep apnea at home - no wearable sensors, wires, masks or straps. It uses a pneumatic sensor to measure respiratory rate, body movement and heart rate, with sound and motion detection for snoring and breathing disturbances (Sleep Review, AASM).

The catch is the route to it: Sleep Rx is available in the US by prescription, through healthcare professionals via Withings Health Solutions, as part of clinical sleep management or remote patient monitoring programs. You cannot order one the way you order the consumer mat. That is the correct arrangement for a diagnostic device, and it is also the clearest possible illustration of the line between a wellness gadget and a cleared medical device. Our smart ring sleep apnea guide covers what the consumer devices are and are not allowed to claim.

What to check before you buy

  1. Whether the tracking survives cancellation. The single most important question in this category. Withings says your sleep history and trends stay free; Emfit says the features are unavailable without an active subscription; Eight Sleep does not say.
  2. Your mattress. Withings supports spring, foam and latex, rules out waterbeds and warns about air mattresses. Check your own before ordering.
  3. Your bed partner. Withings says it reads only the person above it. Emfit does not address it. Eight Sleep tracks each side separately by design.
  4. Wi-Fi at the bed. Withings needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and a phone for setup, and cannot be installed from a computer. Emfit needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi too, but no phone at all.
  5. Where the data goes. All three are cloud services. Withings offers free unlimited storage plus Apple Health and Google Health Connect sync; Emfit states you retain ownership and offers a Push API. Our data privacy guide covers what to look for in any of these policies.
  6. HSA/FSA. Withings' page flags HSA/FSA eligibility and Eight Sleep lists an HSA/FSA payment option. Your plan administrator decides - see our HSA/FSA guide.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Assuming a mat is a one-time purchase. It used to be a safe assumption in this category. Emfit changed that in March 2024, and Eight Sleep never offered it.
  • Buying an under-mattress tracker if you travel. It cannot follow you. A ring can.
  • Expecting ring metrics. No blood oxygen, no skin temperature, no daytime activity. The metric list is genuinely different.
  • Reading “clinical-grade” or “tested against PSG” as FDA clearance. The only FDA-cleared device in this category that we found is prescription-only.
  • Buying a climate system when you wanted a sleep tracker. The Eight Sleep Pod is excellent at the thing it is really for. If that thing is not temperature control, it is a very expensive way to log a night.
  • Buying it to diagnose something. These are wellness devices. A breathing-disturbance count you can show a doctor is useful; a diagnosis is the doctor's.

How we scored this

Rings we claim to have lab-tested: 0

Plenty of ring reviews say they wore everything they rank. We haven't, and we say so. Every pick here is labeled Researched: we read each brand's fee policy, spec sheet, sizing and warranty pages, and the published studies that tested the ring (or its predecessor) against a chest strap, an ECG or a sleep lab, then scored it on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from, and maker performance numbers are labeled “maker's claim.”

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

What changed

  • Published.

Questions

Frequently asked

What is the best under-mattress sleep tracker?
The Withings Sleep. It is a 5 mm mains-powered mat that reports sleep stages, heart rate, respiratory rate, snoring and breathing disturbances, and Withings states you keep “free, unlimited access to your sleep history and trends” without a subscription. The optional Withings+ plan adds a Readiness Indicator and clinical services.
Do under-mattress sleep trackers need a subscription?
Two of the three here do. Emfit says that since March 2024 the QS ships with a fixed-term cloud service and that without an active subscription the sleep-tracking features are not available. Eight Sleep folds an Autopilot plan at $299/year into the Pod's price. Withings says its sleep data stays free.
Are under-mattress sleep trackers accurate?
We could not find a peer-reviewed validation study for any of these three consumer devices. Withings says its mat was developed with sleep physicians and tested against polysomnography, which is the maker's claim. Notably, Withings' separate prescription-only Sleep Rx does hold an FDA clearance for aiding sleep apnea diagnosis.
Does an under-mattress tracker work if you share a bed?
Withings says it “is engineered to focus exclusively on the person resting directly above it” and does not capture a partner's movements or heart rate. Eight Sleep tracks each side of the bed separately. Emfit's ordering page does not address it.
Is an under-mattress tracker better than a smart ring?
For your own bed, with nothing to wear or charge and snoring detection a ring cannot do - yes. For travel, naps, daytime data, blood oxygen, skin temperature or the strongest published accuracy evidence - no. Many people end up choosing on whether they will actually wear something to bed.
Can an under-mattress tracker detect sleep apnea?
The consumer Withings Sleep counts snoring episodes and flags breathing disturbances, which you can show a doctor - it is not a diagnosis. Withings' Sleep Rx is FDA-cleared to aid in diagnosing obstructive sleep apnea at home, but it is prescription-only through healthcare professionals. See our sleep apnea guide.

Receipts

Sources

  1. Withings US: Sleep under-mattress tracking mat (sensors, metrics, dimensions, power, app, subscription FAQ) (checked 2026-09-26)
  2. Withings: Withings+ subscription plans and terms (quoted on the Sleep product page) (checked 2026-09-26)
  3. Amazon search results for "Withings Sleep tracking mat" (listing titles) (checked 2026-09-26)
  4. Withings Health Solutions: Sleep Rx (FDA-cleared, prescription, via healthcare professionals) (checked 2026-09-26)
  5. Sleep Review: FDA clears under-mattress mat for home sleep apnea screening (Sept 2024) (checked 2026-09-26)
  6. American Academy of Sleep Medicine: FDA clears Sleep Rx mat for OSA diagnosis (checked 2026-09-26)
  7. Emfit Oy: EMFIT QS ordering and pricing page (Finnish; euro pricing, 3-year cloud service then a yearly fee) (checked 2026-09-26)
  8. Emfit Oy: ballistocardiography, the sensing method behind the QS (checked 2026-09-26)
  9. Eight Sleep: Pod 6 product page (price, Autopilot plan, hub specs, sizes) (checked 2026-09-26)
  10. Oura Support: Oura Membership (price, what works without it) (checked 2026-09-19)
  11. Oura: Oura Ring 5 store page (battery, water rating, sizes, HSA/FSA) (checked 2026-09-19)
  12. RingConn: Gen 2 product page (checked 2026-09-19)
  13. Dial et al., Physiological Reports 2025: nocturnal resting HR and HRV in consumer wearables vs Polar H10 (checked 2026-09-19)
  14. Herberger et al., Scientific Reports 2025: finger ring trackers in the clinical sleep lab (PMC11923143) (checked 2026-09-19)
  15. Jin et al., J Translational Medicine 2026: finger-worn devices for sleep staging and apnea, meta-analysis (PMC13348430) (checked 2026-09-19)
  16. IRS: FAQs about medical expenses related to nutrition, wellness and general health (checked 2026-09-19)
  17. Flex: how to get a Letter of Medical Necessity online (checked 2026-09-19)

We haven't worn or lab-tested the rings on this page and we don't pretend to. Fees come from each brand's own policy pages (with the date we checked), specs from maker pages and listings, and accuracy claims from named, published studies. Hardware prices are set by Amazon and change daily, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

Keep going

  • Best Smart Rings

    Best Smart Ring for Sleep Tracking

    Six sleep tracker rings ranked on what your sleep data costs to see and what the sleep-lab studies show. RingConn Gen 2 leads; Oura Ring 4 has the evidence.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: RingConn Gen 2 · 6 ranked

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Best Smart Rings

    Best Sleep Tracking Wearables

    Rings vs watches vs bands for sleep, with the evidence, then six ring picks you can own outright. RingConn Gen 3 is our best sleep wearable.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: RingConn Gen 3 · 6 ranked

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 3

  • Accuracy vs a Chest Strap

    Smart Ring Sleep Apnea

    What RingConn, Samsung and Oura actually claim about sleep apnea, what a 2026 meta-analysis found, and why a ring is a prompt to see a clinician, not a diagnosis.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: RingConn Gen 2

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Cost & Subscriptions

    Smart Ring Subscription Costs

    Every smart ring brand's fee policy, the 1, 3 and 5-year math for every ring, what's locked without a plan, and the optional extras nobody mentions up front.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: RingConn Gen 2

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to RingConn Gen 2

  • Accuracy vs a Chest Strap

    Ring Sleep Tracking Accuracy

    What sleep-lab studies found when rings were checked against polysomnography: sleep versus wake, sleep stages, group versus individual error, and who funded what.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Oura Ring 4

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Oura Ring 4

More in Best Smart Rings